Virginia Hit-and-Run Lawyer

VA hit and run lawyerHave Virginia police said you are responsible for or were a passenger in a vehicle involved in a hit-and-run accident?

The criminal penalties for leaving the scene of an accident are steep, as are the repercussions on your driver’s license.

But you only suffer these penalties once you are convicted.

However, having a highly skilled and trained hit-and-run accident lawyer could help you avoid a conviction and the negative consequences that come with it.

If you search for a hit-and-run attorney in Virginia, you may come up with many from which you could choose.

How do you determine which attorney is right for you?

At Andrew Flusche, Attorney at Law, PLC, we know how to help.

I am attorney Andrew Flusche, and my partner Ryan “Fitz” Fitzgerald and I are a team of criminal defense attorneys with extensive experience fighting to protect the rights of Virginia citizens.

Although we base our office in Fredericksburg, Virginia, we travel across the state to represent clients charged with serious traffic crimes like leaving the scene of an accident.

We can put you in the best possible position to avoid a hit-and-run conviction.

Why Do You Need a Virginia Hit-and-Run Lawyer?

The need for representation from an experienced hit-and-run lawyer stems from the possible penalties you face if convicted.

Hit-and-run is a Class 5 felony if the crash results in death or injury to a person or property damage exceeding $1,000.

Leaving the scene is a Class 1 misdemeanor if the property damage is less than $1,000.

A Class 5 felony conviction exposes you to a prison sentence of 1 to 10 years or a jail sentence of up to 1 year.

The judge or jury can decide whether you should serve a felony sentence in prison or a misdemeanor sentence in jail. The maximum fine for a Class 5 felony is $2,500.

A Class 1 misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in jail or a fine of $2,500.

The court could revoke your driving privileges as well. The DMV will assess demerit points on your license, and your insurance rates will likely increase.

What Does Virginia Law Say You Have to Do if Involved in a Motor Vehicle Accident?

A driver involved in an incident with property damage, death, or injury must stop immediately, according to the Code of Virginia § 46.2-894.

In addition to stopping, drivers must provide their driver’s license, name, home address, and vehicle registration number to others involved in the crash and law enforcement.

The driver has to render aid to injured parties to the extent possible.

All drivers must stop to locate the owner of damaged but unattended property. The operator can leave a note identifying themselves if the owner cannot be found.

After that, the driver must report the crash to the police.

Passengers who are 16 years or older riding in vehicles that do not stop after a wreck have 24 hours to report an accident to the police.

This rule applies to accidents involving death, injury, or property damage to attended property.

We Are Here to Help You When You Need It

Working with an attorney who has extensive knowledge and experience defending hit-and-run cases could help you achieve the best possible outcome for your case.

You should not go to a doctor who does not have experience treating the illness or disease you have.

Likewise, you should seek representation from a skilled and dedicated traffic crimes defense lawyer if the police charge you with a hit-and-run.

The experienced lawyers of Andrew Flusche, Attorney at Law, PLC, are here for you.

We have defended thousands of people facing serious traffic offenses.

Our experience can be the difference between having an uncertain future and putting your mistakes behind you.

Call us today at 540-318-5824 for a free consultation.

What's Next?

Get Free Answers

Andrew wrote the book on reckless driving. It’s the most-reviewed Virginia reckless driving resource on Amazon.com.

Get Your Free Copy

Andrew wrote the book on DWI. It’s jam-packed full of answers for your case.

Get Your Free Copy

Our special report about driving on suspended explains six critical issues to possibly fight in your case.

Get Your Free Copy

Andrew wrote the book on reckless driving. It’s the most-reviewed Virginia reckless driving resource on Amazon.com.

Get Your Free Copy

Andrew wrote the book on DWI. It’s jam-packed full of answers for your case.

Get Your Free Copy

Our special report about driving on suspended explains six critical issues to possibly fight in your case.

Get Your Free Copy

CONTACT US TODAY

We provide free consultations for cases in our area. If we can't help, we'll do our best to connect you with someone who can.

540.318.5824

help@andrewflusche.com

Contact Andrew & Fitz