Virginia Civil Possession of Marijuana Lawyer

Virginia law drastically changed on July 1, 2020. Simple possession of marijuana changed from a misdemeanor offense into a civil penalty only.

If you are found guilty of possessing marijuana, the maximum penalty is a $25 fine. That’s it. Instead of possible jail and suspension of your driver’s license, you just pay a $25 fine, and there are not even court costs.

You still may want to defend your marijuana charge, since a conviction is still part of the public court records.

For more information on the new marijuana law and how it might affect you, check out these two videos:

Marijuana is NOT Legal in Virginia, but no Longer a Crime

Ultimate Guide to Virginia Marijuana Decriminalization

Ryan Fitzgerald

I'm Ryan Fitzgerald; everyone calls me Fitz. I partnered with Andrew to form a focused defense team that is devoted to your needs. I have over 12 years of experience as a former prosecutor, so I know what the Commonwealth wants to see for negotiations and how to find the weak spots in their case. My experience ranges from reviewing all incoming DWIs to prepare other prosecutors for court, to training officers how to build their DWI cases, to successfully prosecuting a thirty-year cold case homicide. Your initial consultation with me is free; you'll talk directly with me about your case and how we can leverage my experience and connections to obtain the best possible result.

What's Next?

Get Free Answers

Andrew wrote the book on reckless driving. It’s the most-reviewed Virginia reckless driving resource on Amazon.com.

Get Your Free Copy

Andrew wrote the book on DWI. It’s jam-packed full of answers for your case.

Get Your Free Copy

Our special report about driving on suspended explains six critical issues to possibly fight in your case.

Get Your Free Copy

CONTACT US TODAY

We provide free consultations for cases in our area. If we can't help, we'll do our best to connect you with someone who can.

540.318.5824

help@andrewflusche.com

Contact Andrew & Fitz